History Visit Us Support Us Tours News & Events Teachers Kids
Printer Friendly Version

Oil Storage Building

The Light Station oil house was one of the earliest and largest of its kind ever built for the storage of kerosene, or "mineral oil" as it was called in the late 1800s. The building was constructed with a unique double wall ventilation system for safety reasons. Kerosene was stored in 504 five gallon cans on shelves inside.

The shelves were replaced in 1927 by two large iron tanks which still sit in the oil house today. The building was gutted by fire in 1970, but fully restored in 1989. Visitors can examine the structure and its contents which includes both the 500 gallon oil storage tanks and various minor aids to navigation commonly found on U.S. waterways to this day.